NAAIM Founders Award – 2021 Competition – Call for Papers

February 17, 2021 @ 6:28 pm – April 15, 2021 @ 11:58 pm
Susan Truesdale

NAAIM Founders Award

The NAAIM Founders Award is designed to expand awareness of active investment management techniques and the results of active strategies through the solicitation and publication of research on active management. $5,000 is presented annually for the best paper submitted to the competition.

Since 2009 the call for papers resulted in an international response, with authors from New Zealand, Great Britain, Canada, Germany, and India as well as the U.S., submitting research demonstrating advancements in active investment management and it’s potential.

The competition is open to all investment practitioners, academic faculty and doctoral candidates who submit an innovative topic in the area of active investing.


The winning author will receive the following prize package:

  • $5,000 cash prize and the opportunity to present the winning paper at the 2021 Uncommon Knowledge Conference
  •  Uncommon Knowledge Conference registration, domestic coach airfare and one night lodging for one author of the winning paper.

Paper Topics: The papers should cover an innovative topic in the area of active investing. This can be either a documented investing approach, an exploration into the validity of active investing, or research in the other issues related to active investing such as making investment decisions using technical analysis, quantitative analysis, etc. Papers can also address related topics such as position sizing techniques, money management approaches, scaling into and out of trades, exit strategies, tax harvesting, execution, etc.